Grimoire pilgrimage – Chapter 10.: The capital

Despite my plan to get off the train before the Western Station, I still couldn’t get away from the checking. Between Cegléd and Budapest, Scathach was sitting on the emptied seat next to me in her human form. Thank God that there were only two clerics and two mages in the car, and their level fell significantly behind our level. Even if they could notice Scathach’s presence, she can still erase their memories. Because of that, Scathach calmly put her head on my shoulder.
‘Why do you trust in Réka, Master?’ she asked.
‘Do you know the miracle Holy Voice?’ I asked.
‘Not exactly’ she said. ‘But I heard some rumors about it.’
‘Holy Voice is an expert level Orator-exclusive miracle. It isn’t even taught at the Academy, so I had to learn it myself.’
‘What’s that good for?’ she asked.
‘Holy Voice is really special. Just by telling people to calm down, they calm down immediately. I can take away pain by telling people that they aren’t in pain. I can even heal smaller injuries with my voice. But this isn’t all. It has two special versions: Liar’s Confession and Enlightenment. The more sinner my conversation partner is, the more effective my voice.’
‘So you can also persuade people?’ she asked.
‘Orators fight with their voices, not with their fists’ I said. ‘I can persuade almost anyone, as long as I have enough information. Usually, I can predict several steps in the future of the conversation, and make the right choices in time. It’s just like the situational practices in kindergarten. I always have several choices and paths to choose, and by making the right choices, I can persuade almost anyone.’
‘So this is why you were so calm at the Lord of Vampires’ she said. ‘You could’ve persuaded him even if you’d used all of your questions.’
‘Yes, I could. The only problem back then was how to get inside. I knew I could do it if I met him personally.’
‘Master’ asked Scathach. Her voice was strange: it was full with concern. ‘Will you try persuading them to stop their plans?’
‘If I have the chance, I will’ I said. ‘But I don’t think they’ll listen to me. Holy Voice has two limits: it is the most effective when I face only one person, or when I stand as an orator and talk to the people. If they look down at me, my power is less effective.’
‘Please be careful, Master’ she said. ‘If it isn’t necessary, don’t risk your life with defenseless talking.’
‘Don’t worry, Scathach’ I said. ‘Now, I have to focus on persuading the Archwitch Vivi was talking about.’
‘It’ll be hard’ she said. ‘Witches are stubborn.’
‘Just like me’ I sighed.

The inspectors got up the train at Ferihegy station. In my car, there were two of them: a young cleric in uniform and an Imperial Police member in his shining armor. I heard that the armor of the Imperial Police members is made of special metal called invar. It is highly resistant to magic, divine vibrations and physical damage. It’s also light. However, it has one great disadvantage: its high cost. Because of that, only the chest pieces and the helmets are made of it, not an entire armor. But certain tricks – like Orator chants or memory manipulation magic – can still make their way through the invar. I hope I managed to mask my aura.
The inspectors didn’t ask for any papers. The cleric was holding something which I immediately noticed: a copy of the Book of Sin. At the central court house in Vatican, there is a really special Celestial Treasure called the Printer of Guttenberg. Any books printed by it can be altered anytime by using their original printing press. It’s getting refreshed every day at midnight with the names of the most wanted criminals. I heard that there are some similar magical tools, but since the Church defies magic, they only use the printer. I don’t think that my name was already removed from it, but since Scathach put on her Absolute Illusion on me, I wasn’t worried. The cleric looked at me, checked me by the crystal pendulum (it indicated me as a mage, but of course nobody noticed it), nodded, than left to check the next passenger. The policeman didn’t even take a look at me, just left. Looks like he has no affinity to magic. After they left the car, I praised Scathach:
Nice illusion, Scathach!
Ehehe’ she said. ‘Thanks, Master! But these low-level fellows are no challenge to me.
I had no idea you knew the word ˝fellow˝’ I thought.

The capital impressed me even from the train. I was born here and grew up in this city, its sizes can still impress me. Debrecen is a small village compared to it. Even if there are no gardens in this town, the crowd is far too big and everything – from the dogs to the traffic – is loud, this city has a great advantage: the trees. This might sound incomprehensible, so I’ll explain it. In the ancient times, before the first era, the world was different. Besides the ancient beasts and the Everlasting Dragons, plants ruled the planet. They utilized not just the energy of Sun, but also lots of different energies: spiritual forces, soul energy, divine vibrations, the energy of the lay lines and even magical powers. When the territory of the humanoid beings started expanding, these plants slowly started disappearing. Nowadays, only witches and shamans know some of these plants and are able to reproduce their seeds. But some trees survived. A distant relative of these ancient trees lives in Budapest. Its real name is Western European Great Spirit Tree, but it’s commonly called World Tree. This tree is amazing. It lives in the Center City Park. This tree unites its nature energies with the plants it comes in contract with. Because of that, it has no seeds, and Budapest was always full of beautiful trees. The biggest change in the city’s view was four hundred years ago, when the connection with the oriental kingdoms became common. A well-known noble went to learn to the Japanize Empire, and brought back ornamental cherry seedlings. The World Tree somehow reacted to them, and they changed: they were blooming from April to May, brought light green leaves during summer, their leaves turned into gold during autumn, and the color of their boles turned into silver during the winter. After the revolution two hundred years ago, these cherry trees changed once again: only on March 15 they started bringing gold flowers just for one day. Tourists love these trees, since they’re unique in the whole European continent. And now, since it was April, the cherry trees bloomed with full power.
I quietly left the train, and went through the station. Before anyone could ask anything, I was already on the street. I didn’t even stop until I was three streets away from the station. But only then I looked around, trying to find out where I exactly am.
What’s going to happen now, Master?’ asked Scathach.
I’m thinking’ I said. ‘First, we have to find the hideout of the witches. After talking to the Archwitch, I’ll try to talk with the emperor.
The emperor? Don’t you think it’s too much?
He might be in danger.
He won’t listen to you. He thinks that you are a criminal.
You forgot what the green dragon said.
Are you talking about the kidnapping of the second princess, Margaret? How is this going to help us?
I don’t know this yet’ I said. ‘But if we find the princess, we can convince him to fight by our side and stop the plan.
What if he doesn’t know about the plan?
From the beginning our plan was me stopping the apocalypse. Even if he won’t stand by our side, I will still destroy the Decalogue myself.
So, what are we going to do, Master?
First, let’s go to the citadel. We have to find the witches. Let’s go.
Since the citadel is on the other side of the Danube, in Buda, and I’m currently at the eastern part of Pest, I have long road before me. I chose the second easiest way to get there: tram. Budapest has the best underground system in the whole Monarchy, but there are always at least two guards at every station. Going by tram should be easier and less dangerous, but it’ll also take more time. I guess there’s no helping then. I bought a few tickets at a newsdealer, and took the tram. Just as I expected, there was a lot of people, but no guards. I like the trams in Debrecen, but these trams are cool, too. While the trams used in Debrecen are blue, the ones here are yellow. There is one more significant difference: the ones here have tires on their metal wheels. It might sound just a little something, but this makes a great difference in the terms of making noise. This little change helped making the capital’s transport a lot quieter and more comfortable.
While traveling, I was paying attention to the passengers. I haven’t notice anyone who could notice that I’m a cleric, but I saw a mage holding hands with a girl in dress, and two werewolves (fortunately it human form). Nothing too extraordinary. I wonder what the passengers here would think if they knew that I’m the High King of Hexes. They probably first would be confused, than after an explanation would start panicking. Being the High King of Hexes is surely troublesome, right?

The tram silently crossed the Liberty Bridge, giving us excellent view to the Danube, than carried us to Buda. The change of leaving Pest and arriving to Buda can be felt even in the air. Probably the hills do this, the atmosphere here feels a bit different that in Pest. This change makes Budapest a unique city. I heard that there’re no other cities like this in the whole world. Buda always gave the impression of an ancient city, which is totally right. This place on the coast of Danube was inhabited since the beginning of the First Era. The oldest part of the city is more than three thousand years old, and since its foundation, it was inhabited. The walls of the castle are from that time. Pest is different; since it became inhabited after building massive bridges, it is less than one-third old. This is why this part seems always younger. The World Tree is responsible for uniting the atmosphere of the city, but the river also takes his part in the work. When I first saw the map of the city, I thought it is like a big heart, the heart of the country.

I got off the train, and headed to the stairs up to the citadel. The cherry trees were present here, too; their petals covered the stairs. Everything here is so romantic. If my life and the world wouldn’t be in danger, I’d stop and just keep looking the landscape. But I have no time for this right now. I sighed and continued climbing up the stairs. Realty can be really cruel sometimes.
I arrived to the top of the hill and turned left. The citadel isn’t an official monument. It was built mainly for the tourists, but not for the local citizens. This is why this place is full of tourists. It has a huge marble tablet with the names of the soldiers who died during the revolution wars, and the former grave of Petőfi. Petőfi was also a revolutionist, but he disappeared during the last, finishing battle. His corpse was never found. Such a great hero, and he doesn’t even have a proper grave… So does this mean that if I save the world and die during that I won’t even get a proper grave either? That’s so sad.
On the side of the building, I noticed a service staircase locked by a chain. It led to the top.
Scathach?’ I asked in my mind.
Yes, Master?
You said that the searching spell is the most effective when casted at a high place, right?
That’s right’ she answered. ‘It can cover up a larger area that way. Also, we should be in an open area.
So the best would be the roof of the citadel, right?
That’s right’ she said.
I sighed, looked around for the guard, than when he wasn’t looking, I stepped through the chain and rushed up. Thank God that there was no one up there. The view from there was even more amazing. The sky was clear blue, the Sun was shining. The brick brown color of the buildings and the white-pink color of the cherry trees mixed with the shining blue of the river. I don’t know much about conquering girls, but if I can believe what I was told, showing a girl this would grant instant success. It’s a shame that I’m not here for this.
‘How should I cast the spell, Scathach?’ I asked on my normal voice.
I’ll transfer the required knowledge into your mind. This time you have to modify the spell. Can you do that alone, Master?
‘I watched you’ I said. ‘If I have the knowledge to use it, I can use the modifier, too.’
Then, here I go’ she said.
The knowledge came instantly into my mind. It’s a difficult spell which requires high perception abilities as well close attention to the environment. But I can do that.
Use me as a staff, Master’ said Scathach.
The small book appeared in my left hand. I took a hold on it, raised it towards the sky and incanted the spell.
Search spell: Wide Area Search! Target: witch! Modifier: colossal area effect! Search: start!
A light blue magical circle appeared under my legs, and started slowly rotating. Three more blue halo-like strips appeared around my body with the ancient elven writing on them, and started rotating. I somehow recognized the writing: search, witch and scan. Suddenly, the middle strip started glowing with deeper blue, and a compass-like arrow appeared on the floor.
End casting!’ I said.
The magic circle and the strips disappeared, and the flow of Mana stopped as well. I let my hand down, trying to memorize the place indicated by the searching spell. It was in Pest, but quite far from our current location.
‘Do you have the picture in your mind, Scathach?’ I asked.
Yes, I do’ she answered. ‘But we should get out of here as soon as we can. I’m sure that someone noticed us. I’ve prepared the camouflage spell.
I looked at the stairs down. If someone really noticed us, it would be the worst possible choice to go down there. So we have to choose the other way down. Well…
Precast: Light Fall! Modifier: touch trigger! Start!’ I casted the spell.
Both Knights and Rangers use the cleric version of this spell. It nullifies fall damage, no matter how high the fall is. But since using an aura-manipulation technic would break the effect of the invisibility spell I got ready to use, I have to use this if I don’t want to break my legs when I drop down the hill.
‘Scathach!’ I said. ‘Cast the spell on me now!’
Hidden Body!’ she casted the spell on me.
When I made sure that I’m completely invisible, I turned around, climbed through the parapet and jumped down. Just in time: I heard footsteps from the stairs. It was a rather big jump: I was falling for a while, and then I safely arrived on the road. Luckily no cars were there, so I could escape without any problem. The invisibility was cancelled after about two minutes, but I was already running towards the next bridge. I hope this will only be listed as unlicensed magic usage by an unknown culprit. If I can believe the memories received from Scathach, they can identify the spell, but cannot determine the results or the search parameters. I know that in Debrecen about twenty unlicensed magic usage happens a day, so let’s hope they won’t connect me. If I can sustain until midnight, my name will disappear from the Book of Sin. If that happens, I will be almost free.
I arrived to the Chain Bridge, but didn’t cross there. The Margit Bridge is better for crossing on foot. I slowed down a bit here. I don’t need to run to reach the bridge. It would just make me suspicious. Now I can calmly walk. I tried to remember the place given by the search. It looked like a simple dwelling house with a shop on the ground floor. So that would be the sanctuary of the Witch Hand? I don’t think so. If I could find them this easily, it wouldn’t be a secret place. But witches would surely make a secret hideout, wouldn’t they? The only thing I know is that there is definitely a witch there. If I persuade her, she might help.
I arrived at the Margit Bridge, and took the tram again. I was careful about the passengers this time too; but I wasn’t afraid. I’m getting closer and closer to solve this case. Even if I’m not innocent, saving the world has to count something to God, right? I don’t want to get executed, but if I die, God’s judgment should be positive. If I succeed, I won’t go to Hell.
I got off the tram four stops later, crossed the road and headed to the left. According to the map in my head, I still have to go three more corners, turn right and go two corners. The house will be on the right. But Budapest surely became a metropolis. This street isn’t even an important one, but it’s full with cloth stores, book shops and foreign restaurants. I saw a pastry shop with delicious-looking cakes and truffles. I didn’t go in, but I memorized its location in the case if I had the chance to come back. It would be a real sin to miss a cake here.
During my walk I saw a few Imperial Police members. They were giving directions to tourists. It looks like they’re busy with the festival, too. But I don’t have time for them. I continued walking, turned to the left and soon reached the indicated house. I stopped at the door, and hesitated.
‘Sigh’ I grumbled. ‘Why do I have to do this?’
It’s now or never. If I stop here, I cannot reach my goal. So let’s not hesitate and ask help from the witch inside, okay?
I silently opened the door. The bell rang, the door closed. I was honestly surprised. It was a coffee shop. The premise was small and dark, but it was well-designed. The shelves were made of dark wood, just like the floor. On the cupboard in the shop window there were several old-looking copper coffee grinders. Next to one of the walls there was a huge old cabinet full of coffee bags made of shining blue and green paper. In the middle of the premise there was a barrel and several sacks full of coffee beans. In the cabinet under the desk there were several coffee kits. Behind the desk there was a huge oil painting. I have no idea where it was made, but it looked like some valley in the Far East.
‘Coming!’ said someone behind a door.
The corridor was covered by a curtain from the rest of the premise. A moment later the curtain was pulled out and a woman arrived.
‘How can I help, young man?’ she asked.
‘I’m looking for a sorceress’ I said.
‘Who?’ she asked back curiously.
‘A member of the Witch Hand’ I said.
The old woman hesitated for a moment, but still answered:
‘I’m a member of this covenant, but how can I help a cleric?’
‘I’m not a simple cleric’ I answered. ‘The girl I’m looking for said that they could help me.’
‘The hall is in the centrum’ she said. ‘If you want, I can give you the address…’
I pulled out Vivi’s ribbon and put it on the table, being careful for the runes on it to be visible. The woman sighed.
‘I want to see the Archwitch’ I said.
She nodded, and said:
‘The sanctuary isn’t here, but there is a secret tunnel in my basement leading there.’
She pulled out a big iron key from the account, and handed it to me.
‘You can open the door with this. There is a hanger on the other side of the door. Don’t close the door, just put the key there.’
Just to be careful, I checked her with Detect Lie. She said the truth. I took the key, pulled out the curtain and went down the stairs. The door was there, just as she said. I opened it with the key, hanged up the key and headed to the dark depths.
Candlelight’ I whispered. The orb of light appeared, illuminating the corridor.
You’re getting used to using magic, Master’ said Scathach’s voice in my head.
‘I’m not too happy about it’ I said.
I was walking for about four minutes continuously. At some point, the floor started becoming steeper, and soon stairs appeared. The end was closed by a massive wooden door. It was locked, so I knocked. Someone pulled a looking latch away.
‘Who is there?’ asked someone. Instead of answering, I showed the ribbon. The door was opened immediately.
‘Come in quickly’ said the sorceress.
She was wearing the standard mage robes, as well as a chain shirt and a steel helmet. Despite what she said, she didn’t put away her staff. I could clearly feel that she was suspicious.
‘Follow me’ she said. ‘There is someone waiting for you.’
‘Someone? Who?’
She started walking so rapidly that I decided to close my mouth and fasten my steps.
By the way, the sanctuary seemed like more a dungeon than a safe zone. The walls were made of bricks, and there were iron bars in the door gabs before the rooms. Strangely, there was electricity here: the place was illuminated by yellow light bulbs. This place was a real labyrinth: we circled around for a while until we arrived to a bigger room. It looked like an eatery: there were several wooden benches in three columns. And at one of the table a familiar face was sitting…
‘Kardos!’ shouted my accompanist. ‘Your guest is here!’
The black-haired girl jumped up from her seat and started running towards us.
‘Gergely!’ she shouted happily. The next moment, I found myself in a tight hug.
‘You made it!’ she exulted. ‘I knew you could make it!’
‘H-hello, Vivi’ I could only say that much. A bit later she let me out from the tight hug, stepped back and gave me a brilliant smile.
‘From now on, he is your responsibility’ said the sorceress. ‘Got it?’
‘Got it!’ she said. Vivi looked at me, grabbed my arm and pulled after her.
‘I’m so happy you made it here!’ she said. ‘It took a while, you know.’
‘Sorry about that’ I said, somewhat honestly. ‘I was attacked a few times.’
‘Did you manage to talk with the Dracula?’ she asked.
‘I did’ I said.
‘And?’ she asked.
‘I believe in what you said about the end of the world.’
‘I’d never lie to you’ she said quietly. She took a deep breath, than quietly said:
‘I wanted to see you. I was really worried, you know?’
‘Me too’ I said. ‘I was afraid that you didn’t make your way out of Debrecen.’
‘T-thank you for healing me’ she whispered.
‘No problem’ I said. ‘It’s a cleric’s job to heal, too.’
When we passed by two sorceresses who were just looking at us and strangely smiling, we noticed that we’re still linking arms. She quickly let my arm go with a blush. I felt that my face was hot, too.
‘I-I’m going to take you to the Archwitch’ she said. ‘Are you tired?’
‘Not really’ I said. ‘I managed to get plenty of sleep last night, so I’m fine.’
‘Good to hear!’ she said.
We arrived to a massive iron door. Vivi stopped in front of it, and took a deep breath. Somehow I got nervous. Vivi noticed it, and encouragingly tightened my hand.
‘Don’t worry’ she said. ‘The Archwitch isn’t a patient person, but she isn’t evil either. I’m sure she’ll help you.’
‘Let’s hope so’ I whispered. Vivi nodded, knocked three times at the door, than opened it.
It was a smaller room than the previous one, but still bigger than the other chambers. And only a single person was sitting on the only chair. She was wearing a black dress, a long cape and a really big witch hat. I think I heard the rumor somewhere that a witch’s rank can be determined from the size of her hat. It seems like for me that this rumor was exceptionally right. She raised her head, and looked at us. Vivi stepped ahead and bowed.
‘Sorry for disturbing you, my Lady’ she said, and quickly looked at me. I got her message and also bowed.
‘So you are the new High King of Hexes, huh?’ she took a thorough look at me. ‘Well, it could be worse. Now leave, Kardos.’
‘As you wish, my lady’ said Vivi. She looked at me, and with a worried expression she left.
‘Sorry for coming without saying anything’ I apologized from the Archwitch.
‘Do you have the grimoire?’ she asked. Looks like she likes going straight to the middle of the things.
‘Here’ I said. I closed my eyes, and called for Scathach. She immediately materialized by my side.
‘Did you call for me, Master?’ she asked.
‘Yes’ I looked at the old woman. ‘She wanted to see you.’
Scathach also took a look at her.
‘Well, if it isn’t the Archwitch’ she said.
‘And you are the Codex of Solomon, am I right?’ asked the witch back. ‘It has been a while. You seem a bit different now.’
‘Well, since then I met my new Master, as well as tasted his true magic’ answered Scathach. I wasn’t even surprised.
‘We thought that we can’t ever make you move’ she said. ‘Is that boy so special?’
‘A lot more than you think’ said Scathach. ‘He is a true miracle.’
The witch looked at my eyes.
‘The newspapers are full with the articles that a rouge priest cut down a Paladin’s arm. Is this true?’
‘Scathach helped me in that’ I said.
‘Scathach?’ she asked back.
‘That’d be me’ said Scathach.
‘I feel no magic coming from your master, grimoire’ said the witch. ‘Yet you’re full of magic. How can it be?’
‘I’m absorbing directly magic from him’ she said. ‘Master has insane capacity and really fast Mana regeneration. It’s so fast that if I want to keep his Mana stock at the minimum, I have to keep up this absorption even now. It’s much better if he uses the magic stored inside me than using his own magic directly. This way I can cover his presence as a mage.’
The witch turned to me.
‘Since how long are you studying the clergyman profession?’ she asked.
‘For about fourteen years’ I said. ‘I was three when I learnt my first full chant.’
‘When did you exactly unlock his magic potential?’
‘Four days ago’ said Scathach.
‘Compared to that, he seems to have amazing amount of Mana’ said the witch. ‘How?’
‘The half-elf mage girl unlocked his full potential yesterday’ said Scathach. ‘Even before that he was about a red or white mage’s level, but since then he leveled up a few times.’
I was surprised that Scathach used the term ˝level up˝, but I became more surprised that the old witch understood it.
‘What’s his current level?’ she asked.
‘I’d say it’s the level of a black mage’ said Scathach.
‘Naturally born black mages are rare’ said the Archwitch. ‘How many spells do you know?’ she asked.
‘I got some memories from Scathach’ I said.
‘What is your type?’ she asked.
‘Superbia’ I said, hoping that this was the good answer.
‘Pride, huh? Quiet common sin among clerics’ she stated.
I agreed with her. The desire to be better than everyone else appears really frequently. This desire is the main source of pride. But pride isn’t a completely negative think. With temperance it can be really useful.
‘And how much do you know about the plan?’ she asked.
‘Which one?’ I asked back. ‘The plan of the Way of White or the plan of the Heaven’s Road?’
‘So you know both?’ she seemed impressed. ‘Than do you have any idea about stopping it?’
‘I think I do’ I said. ‘Where are the stone tablets?’
‘This is a question I can’t answer’ she replied. ‘We have no information about them.’
‘And their activation?’ I asked.
‘You mean the sacrifice? It wasn’t done yet. If the tablets would’ve been activated, we would know about it.’
The Archwitch stood up and walked towards me.
‘Vivi will take you to the training hall’ she said. ‘I’d love to test the young High King of Hexes’ powers personally.’

Leave a comment